CFP: Scottish Seminar in Early Modern Philosophy XII (SSEMP XII)

9-10 May 2024, University of St. Andrews

logo mfo bleu site

Keynote speakers:
Susan James (Birkbeck)
Michael Gill (Edinburgh)

SSEMP XII is the twelfth edition of a yearly international workshop that brings together established scholars, young researchers and advanced graduate students working in the field of Early Modern Philosophy. SSEMP welcomes papers on any topic in early modern philosophy (broadly defined to mean pre-Kantian philosophy ranging from late Renaissance philosophy to the early Enlightenment). We particularly encourage proposals which consider early modern philosophy in relation to related disciplines, such as theology, the history of literature, intellectual history and the history of science. SSEMP is conceived as a forum where established academics, early career researchers, and advanced PhD students can meet. We make an effort to assure a reasonable gender balance.

Submissions for the regular program should include a max. 300-word abstract + contact information gathered in A SINGLE PDF-FILE named: “surname.short-title.pdf.” Graduate students submitting to the regular program should include contact information for one referee (typically the supervisor). Please DO NOT blind submissions or submit multiple files. Deadline for submission of abstracts is 15 December 2023. They should be sent by email to Mogens Lærke on Due to very high numbers of submissions we cannot undertake to respond individually to all submissions. Applicants who have not been contacted by 15 January 2023 should consider their submission declined.

Please note that SSEMP cannot provide funding for travel or accommodation for speakers. We expect to be able to offer lunches and a conference dinner free of charge. SSEMP XII will begin on 9 May, 11am, and finish on 10 May, 4pm.

The SSEMP XII is organised in collaboration between the Philosophy Department at the University of St. Andrews and the ERC project NOTCOM (ERC AdG 101052433) at the Maison Française d’Oxford / IHRIM, ENS de Lyon.


James Harris (St. Andrews)
Mara van der Lugt (St. Andrews)
Alexander Douglas (St. Andrews)
Mogens Lærke (IHRIM, ENS de Lyon / MFO Oxford